# What 94 new Mac apps tell us

> Categories, pricing and builds of every Mac app on MacPip, counted from the live listings on November 5, 2026. Page: https://macpip.com/research/new-mac-apps-2026

## Short answer

- Productivity is the biggest category, with 15 of 94 apps (16%).
- The most common pricing model is "one-time price only", for 39 apps (41%).
- 44 apps (47%) are listed as native, by their makers or by our check.
- The median one-time price is $14.99, across the 21 apps with a plain one-time price.

## How this was counted

- Sample: all 94 approved Mac apps live on MacPip on November 5, 2026. 36 took a launch day, and 58 are directory listings only.
- Date range: October 30, 2026 to November 5, 2026, 7 days. MacPip opened in October 2026.
- Source: the listings, as makers state them. A person has checked 63 of the 94 apps.
- Not a market survey: it describes apps listed on MacPip, not every Mac app.
- Shares are of all 94 apps, rounded. Each app counts once, in its main category.

## Apps by category

| Category | Apps | Share | Free version | One-time | Subscription | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Productivity | 15 | 16% | 6 | 10 | 4 | 12 |
| Audio and Video | 7 | 7% | 4 | 5 | 2 | 7 |
| Files and Storage | 6 | 6% | 4 | 5 | 0 | 1 |
| Photos | 6 | 6% | 4 | 3 | 2 | 4 |
| Utilities | 6 | 6% | 3 | 5 | 0 | 2 |
| Menu Bar | 5 | 5% | 3 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Notch | 5 | 5% | 0 | 5 | 1 | 4 |
| Writing and Notes | 5 | 5% | 4 | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Design and Media | 4 | 4% | 1 | 4 | 0 | 2 |
| Developer Tools | 4 | 4% | 4 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| AI | 3 | 3% | 2 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Coding Agents | 3 | 3% | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Fun and Delight | 3 | 3% | 2 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Screen Recording | 3 | 3% | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 |
| Cleanup and Maintenance | 2 | 2% | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Dictation and Transcription | 2 | 2% | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Messaging and Social | 2 | 2% | 2 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Screenshots | 2 | 2% | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Security and Privacy | 2 | 2% | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Browsers | 1 | 1% | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Clipboard and Text | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Email | 1 | 1% | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Finance | 1 | 1% | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Keyboard and Mouse | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Meetings and Presenting | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Music | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Tasks and Calendars | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Window Management | 1 | 1% | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |

## Pricing models

| Model | Apps | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Free only | 17 | 18% |
| Free version plus a paid option | 32 | 34% |
| One-time price only | 39 | 41% |
| Subscription only | 3 | 3% |
| One-time or subscription | 3 | 3% |
| Not confirmed | 0 | 0% |

21 apps state a plain one-time price. Median $14.99, from $0.99 to $99.

## How they are built

| Built with | Apps | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Native | 44 | 47% |
| Electron | 1 | 1% |
| Other or not stated | 49 | 52% |

| Runs on | Apps | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Apple silicon and Intel | 15 | 16% |
| Apple silicon only | 14 | 15% |
| Intel only | 0 | 0% |
| Not stated | 65 | 69% |

9 are open source and 10 say they work offline.

## When they went live

| Month | Apps |
|---|---|
| October 2026 | 22 |
| November 2026 | 72 |

This shows MacPip growing, not a trend in Mac apps.

## Questions

### How many new Mac apps are on MacPip?
94, counted on November 5, 2026. They went live between October 30, 2026 and November 5, 2026, and a person has checked 63 of them.

### What kind of new Mac apps are most common?
Productivity, with 15 of 94 apps. Next are Audio and Video (7) and Files and Storage (6).

### How do new Mac apps charge?
The most common model on MacPip is "one-time price only" (39 apps, 41%). This comes from what makers state on their listings.

### How many new Mac apps are native?
44 of 94 are listed as native. The rest use Electron, another framework, or did not say.

### Does this describe all Mac apps?
No. It counts only the 94 apps on MacPip, which makers chose to list here. Treat it as a picture of new and indie Mac apps on one site, not of the Mac as a whole.

## Data

CSV: https://macpip.com/research/new-mac-apps-2026.csv
